Taking the Plunge

Hello Internet World.

At the kind urging of an old friend, I’ve decided to enter the wonderful world of blogging.  I’m a fairly typical person except for a few characteristics that make me unique at present: I am about to embark on an international move with my husband and three children under the age of two (!).

A little about me, my family, where we’re going and what led us to this point…

I am from Toronto originally but moved to Winnipeg for grad school.  My husband, a New Zealander, moved to Winnipeg (via the UK) for work.  We met at a dinner party that was expressly arranged to set up two *other* people.  That intended coupling fizzled before it started whereas for us, the “filler guests”, love and best-friendship bloomed.  We spent the next six years of our lives together in Winnipeg, marrying in 2010 and having our first child (a daughter) in December 2011. Just about 7 months after she was born, we were expecting again.  To our surprise, I was pregnant with twins (a son and daughter).  Now, as I write this, our elder daughter is about 20 months old and our younger two are nearing four months.  All in all, our hands are very full.

A lot of people malign Winnipeg but I have to say, the people are exceptionally kind, the city has a unique charm and I made some great friends while there.  That said, the winters are incredibly cold (-40 Celsius at times!) and incredibly long and, now expecting another two children to add to our brood, we wanted to be closer to family. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Canadian geography, here’s an interesting fact: although Winnipeg and Toronto are located in neighbouring provinces, it would take 20 (through the United States)  to 30 hours (through Canada) to drive from one city to the other.

We moved from our home in Winnipeg just a few weeks ago and are now in transit as we spend some time with my family in Toronto before we board our flights to New Zealand in early September.  We are living out of suitcases, chronically tired and caring for three children at varying stages of teething.

Anyway, that’s me.  I hope you like the blog.

5 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge

  1. knockedupjacq

    Hi! I’m a Kiwi twin mum – my two are seven months old tomorrow (and yes, teething sucks). You are a legend for coping with twin newborns and a toddler! Two babies nearly finished me off…

    Whereabouts in NZ are you heading? There are good multiple birth clubs in most towns and cities (I’m on the North Shore of Auckland, and our club is awesome), so you should be able to access some good support wherever you go.

    Please get in touch through my blog if you need anything – I’m always happy to help out a fellow twin mum!

    Reply
    1. SugarShack Post author

      Thank you so much! For the first year or so, I’ll be living in a small town about 2 hours from Auckland. Tell me the twins are sleeping through the night… 🙂

      Reply
      1. knockedupjacq

        Heh! Well, they were… and then four month sleep regression messed us up… and then we did some sleep training and got things under control… and then we came on holiday to France (where I am for the rest of August), teething struck, and my daughter woke up every hour for the past three nights and needed to be fed back to sleep more often than not. More sleep training in store when we get home, I think!

Leave a Reply

